It’s Something

Dear Ms. 43 Year Old Vegan (my only change):

I have good news! I successfully fought to reinstate the prohibition on horse slaughter in the Fiscal Year 2014 spending bill (P.L. 113-76).

Horses are not raised in the U.S. for human consumption. Horses are often treated with drugs that are toxic if ingested by humans. Not only is this an animal welfare issue, it’s also a health safety issue.

As Chairwoman of the Senate Appropriations Committee, I prevented funds in this year’s spending bill from going to the U.S. Department of Agriculture for conducting meat inspections at horse slaughter facilities. This effectively bans horse slaughter. The Fiscal Year 2014 spending bill was passed by the Senate on January 16, 2014, and was signed into law by the President on January 17, 2014. I am very pleased that Congress has once again worked in a bipartisan way to reject horse slaughter as an unsafe and inhumane practice.

I am also proud to be a co-sponsor of the Safeguard American Food Exports (SAFE) Act (S. 541), which would prohibit the slaughter of horses for human consumption.

I hope you are pleased with this good news. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Barbara A. Mikulski
United States Senator

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

