When Sad Songs Make Me Happy

Image

Why is it a great song by The Smiths plays each time I sit at Starbucks to write and read? And that it makes me happy? They nor Morrissey are known for peppy tunes. I guess it’s the era. Periods of the 80’s rank among the best of my life, and the music that I soaked up during those times only adds to the pleasurable ache of nostalgia. How else can I explain my lips curving into a soft smile when hearing these lyrics?

“Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now”

I was happy in the haze of a drunken hour
But Heaven knows, I’m miserable now
I was looking for a job and then I found a job
And Heaven knows, I’m miserable now

In my life, why do I give valuable time
To people who don’t care if I live or die ?

Two lovers entwined pass me by
And Heaven knows, I’m miserable now
I was looking for a job and then I found a job
And Heaven knows, I’m miserable now

In my life, oh, why do I give valuable time
To people who don’t care if I live or die ?

What she asked of me at the end of the day
Caligula would have blushed
“Oh, you’ve been in the house too long”, she said
And I naturally fled

In my life, why do I smile
At people who I’d much rather kick in the eye ?

I was happy in the haze of a drunken hour
But Heaven knows, I’m miserable now
“Oh, you’ve been in the house too long”, she said
And I naturally fled

In my life, oh, why do I give valuable time
To people who don’t care if I live or die ?

Ooh, ooh, I know the answer! It took a lifetime to figure it out but here it is: if you care that others always appreciate what you do for them, you’re not giving “free of charge.” You’re giving with expectations. I’ve struggled with this concept; still do, but not today. Why?

It was a Peggy day. Another song had put me in a fine mood as I drove to our session. And during said session, she said, “You have a big heart.” Unexpected, and coming from her…huge.

It’s then I realized the right people see the good in me. That’s the kind of beauty I want to radiate, so I performed a kindness to a stranger after leaving Peggy’s office. Nope, not telling. Surely you can think of something.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

