100 DAYS OF HAPPINESS

100 DAYS OF HAPPINESS

Day 55: The weather was perfect for our foray via Metro into DC yesterday. We walked and walked, admiring the birdsong, tulips, weeping cherry trees, wrought iron fences enclosing postage stamp front and side yards of lovely old brownstones four stories high. The architecture, blooming trees and forsythia (DC’s south of us so everything’s blooming sooner), people walking doggies of various heritage…well, it made us hungry.

Thankfully, a DC landmark eatery (named after a Langston Hughes poem), Busboys and Poets, was nearby. I’ve wanted to visit for a long time. Outside seating (everywhere, outside seating!) and bustling, they seated us without delay in a cool cushiony corner. DC offers Brunch Saturdays and Sundays (it keeps getting better) and B&P prepares many vegan dishes. They hold poetry slams, author events, and a myriad of programs in honor of Hughes and other outstanding black artists, while fostering the rightness of equality and civil rights.

I gave it two thumbs up before our great-tasting food arrived because the menu included a fabulous quote from Zora Neale Hurston, one of my favorite writers of all time:

“Sometimes, I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It’s beyond me.”

It’s beyond me, too. I’d give anything to have had the pleasure of her company for any length of time.

The air of the place pulsed with good vibes. Enjoying it for the first time with G made me quite happy.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

