100 DAYS OF HAPPINESS

100 DAYS OF HAPPINESS

Day 80: Hey, two things beats the hell out of zero things. I love looking at and writing for my blog, though the latter’s proving a challenge this month as I prepare for the first chapter of Celibate in the City. (Note to self: copyright ASAP.) It’s not writer’s block, either. More like writer’s imminent projectile vomiting–too many topics, like too many tequila shots, seeking immediate release. I’m afraid if I start, I’ll BLAH all over the place and make a big old mess. One up-chucker in the family is enough (secret’s out, Breenie).

Today’s “warm fuzzies” are brought to you (and me, obviously) by daily meditation and reading that book, The Art of Communicating. Thich Nhat Hanh’s suggestion that the people who make us suffer are suffering, too, added stretch marks to my heart. Till now, coping with negative feelings about someone involved acceptance and inviting them into my heart to breathe with me until they faded (gag if you want; it works).

Now when I’m aware of anger at someone, I pause and remember that that person suffers, too. With this awareness, anger morphs into compassion. It’s a beautiful thing, feeling it grow, like watching my shady patch of impatiens from years ago fill in and out.

As for #2, I think we all know I’ve great taste in music. Well, I know, and that’s all that matters. And for my first weekly “Friday Favorite Album” pick, I give you Ghost in the Machine by The Police. Thanks, ex-step-sister, Kim, for turning me on to them in the early 80’s. Without you, I may’ve never learned to appreciate the brilliance that is Stewart Copeland.

What this boils down to is that the worn out adage, “Choose Happiness,” well, I think it might be possible.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

