2 thoughts on “DAVID FOSTER WALLACE ON IRONY

  1. That’s a very interesting, well written piece. The vapidity of irony has not only expunged much art of conviction, but has also leached into our European political system. Satire (which I thoroughly enjoy) has led to a fear of expression of higher aspirations beyond individualist self interest and sowing of fear.

    Let’s hope that DFW’s hopes of a more idealistic and genuine group of artists are realised…,

    1. Couldn’t have put it better myself. You are so wise! I’m happy–posting it got a follower interested in reading him. I suggested she start with his non-fiction…she mentioned Infinite Jest and in my head, I said, “Whoa, not so fast!” lol. I can’t wait to give my whole self to that door stop of a book.

      I don’t know about you but I realize that I read non-fiction a majority of the time now. This is a big fiction lover saying this, too. I love satire, too.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

