The Five Contemplations (Happiness: Essential Mindfulness Practices by Thich Nhat Hanh)

The First Contemplation: This food is a gift of the whole universe; the earth, the sky, numerous living beings, and much hard, loving work.

The Second Contemplation: May we eat with mindfulness and gratitude so as to be worthy to receive this food.

The Third Contemplation: May we recognize and transform our unwholesome mental formations, especially our greed, and learn to eat in moderation.

The Fourth Contemplation: May we keep our compassion alive by eating in such a way that we reduce the suffering of living beings; preserve our planet; and reverse the process of global warming.

The Fifth Contemplation: We accept this food in order to nurture our brotherhood and sisterhood; build our community; and nourish our ideal of serving all living beings.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s