SO 89.7FM HAD THIS CONTEST LAST SUMMER

10277755_10151984389957750_1177267368421173215_n

They asked listeners to send in three songs connected by theme with their reasons for choosing each one. OK, so I entered twice. Under my name, I emailed them a list of melancholy, hopeful, sultry songs in this order: “Nightswimming” by R.E.M.; “Here Comes the Sun” by The Beatles; “Holdin’ On” by DC native, Citizen Cope (theme–my stages of recovery). They picked it, playing it after 11PM one night. I was thrilled and honored…but knew I could do better.

Using another person’s name with their permission, I emailed a kick-ass playlist. My reason for picking these three–“Sometimes I just need to hear strong women rock out.” That did it. My favorite radio station picked it and chose the G-spot of radio times to play it–morning rush hour. Woo hoo! Who cared that the DJ praised the choices of the other person? I knew they were mine. 

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

