“10 BEST BOOKS TO MAKE YOU LAUGH” LIST AFTER ROBIN WILLIAM’S SUICIDE? NOTHING’D MAKE HIM HAPPIER

1421255_496772163754738_1727665674_o

You might as well buy this book ’cause I’ll be praising it ad nauseum, till the cows come home, until it’s due back at the library. Then I shall wait patiently and purchase it in paperback, where it will share bookshelf space with my other health and reference books. I giggle in appreciation of the ailment, “Cold, common” also being referred to as “Man Flu.” You bet your sweet bippy I’ll be posting that entry.

I’m injecting a dose of humor as it’s been a sad few days mulling over Robin Williams’ suicide. His hit me harder because of a Facebook “friend’s” (meaning we’re virtual strangers) assertion that suicide is selfish. She “unfriended” me not because I disagreed on her post thread. I neither looked for nor read it; no, I disagreed in a civil, adult manner with my own post on behalf of my own brushes with the “big sleep,” and the millions afflicted with the various horrors of mental illness.

Apparently differing opinions warranted immediate removal from a friends list for this compassionate vegan. And I wasn’t the first to get the heave-ho. Ah, such is life in the fickle world of social media. There’s a troubling tendency to affix blame on someone so distraught, enduring a level of suffering, pain, and hopelessness such that they hang themselves to death. I felt it necessary to defend Mr. Williams and all the others who silenced the saddest song no one heard. 

Of course, atrocities abound 24/7 and I don’t wish to minimize them, but then we do, don’t we? How else can we roll out of bed each morning and face another day? So I offer The Novel Cure’s ten novel incentives to survive today, to bring forth a chuckle, guffaw, snort, or spontaneous “throw your head back” laugh. It’s OK, you know. In fact, it’s essential.

HUMORLESSNESS See also: Grumpiness; Killjoy, being a; Querulousness

THE TEN BEST NOVELS TO MAKE YOU LAUGH

Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

Tom Jones by Henry Fielding (related to above?)

Home Land by Sam Lipsyte

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes by Anita Loos (recent studies discount this, btw)

Election by Tom Perrotta (who was my lucky duck friend, S’s, English professor at Syracuse the one year she could stand to live there; did you know the sun fails to shine in Syracuse? It’s forsaken Buffalo, too.)

Straight Man by Richard Russo

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple (on my “to read” list forever)

Care of Wooden Floors by Will Wiles

Joy in the Morning by P. G. Wodehouse (may I add any Jeeves and Wooster novel or omnibus; hell, anything by Wodehouse)

(188-189)

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

