I AM THE GOD OF HELL FIRE

If my headache upon waking this morning could utter scary pronouncements, it would be today’s blog title. Like a record skipping, replaying those ominous words all. frigging. day. Existential crisis has passed which is, you know, zip-a-de-do-da great; great, that is, if you prefer “stomach flu-like” symptoms over blasé “flu-like” twaddle. I edit while writing, a big no-no, but let me nip this “like” business in the bud. There’s nothing “like” about tummy grumblings resembling sounds from cartoon factories of mad scientists, causing that “uh oh” feeling and a quick skip to my loo. (I don’t actually skip but adrenaline works temporary wonders on pain). I swear my stomach issued forth an “oy” at one point. You said a tummy full. (Stopped here @ 1:30AM because it was 1:30AM; it’s now today so I’ll try to wrap up yesterday toot sweet.)

IMG_1360IMG_1361

A Google search confirmed my personal diagnosis and off I headed to stock up on bland warm foods, soy yogurt and Kombucha (on sale!) for probiotics, non-toxic, cruelty-free gel eye mask (you rock Yes! market), oh, and my methotrexate refill to down the remaining six poison pills–so tiny, poison. “Off I headed” meant making stomach soothing smoothie, putting in teeth, taking shower (constant sleep sweating; I’m taking it as a sign of releasing toxins), dressing, and gathering essentials in tote. The smoothie calmed the tumtum so I added a visit to Firehook for a vegan chai (excellent, Andrew) and people watching to my agenda. Even got to the library to pick up my holds before my gut declared it time to head home. Worth the effort, ya betcha.

IMG_1362IMG_1363

So thank you, Synergy Guava Goddess Kombucha, Whole Soy & Co. yogurts, Earth Therapeutics eco-friendly gel eye mask (you obliterated my “hell fire” headache last night, you glorious invention), Dr. McDougall’s Vegan Miso Ramen soups (like I’m making homemade soup with a flare), my reliable Willow Balm,  XLear, and Mary “Tiger” Moore lavender-filled eye pillow, and microwaveable Cherapy neck wrap. A special “shout out” to Pacifica’s vegan, coconut-scented body wipes. These are dogsends when you’re racked with pain but want to clean the dried sleep sweat from your body. It smells divinely beachy, an added bonus. Oh, and my only “New-Agey” item, the rose quartz I hold during meditation. A nice man at the Nest store next to Great Sage bought it for me.

According to rosequartzmeaning.com, “…this gemstone is more of a feminine energy that yields to being compassion, sweet, tolerant, forgiving, nurturing and gentleness. Acquiring all these qualities, one can increase dignity and value to oneself. Rose quartz is also effective in balancing emotions and it can strike an energy that heals broken hearts, those who are suffering from deep emotional disturbance like grief, agony, traumatic experiences, and painful feelings of the past.” That’s a tall order for a gemstone, but it’s pretty and feels right in my hand.

IMG_1364IMG_1365

 

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

