THE FABULOUSLY FRUGAL 43YOV–FINALLY

IMG_1667 IMG_1653

OK, I’m no Martha Stewart and don’t get me started on Gwyneth Paltrow, but I’m pretty proud of myself. FINALLY I made homemade coconut milk! Two ingredients, dirt cheap and made for a great-tasting cup of coffee. And it’s made and added to all my green smoothies at the same time! So excited.

My second FINALLY is preparing homemade sea salt scrub. My friend, G, bought me a fab sea salt scrub (w/matching thick lotion) at Obey Your Body in the Bryant Park market in NYC last December for my birthday. Used every last bit of both. Great way to get beneficial magnesium and other healthy trace minerals, not to mention dewy soft skin that you barely have to towel dry.

We visited their “store” again this year but I wasn’t going to spend a lot of money on scrub when I found such a simple, cheap recipe: 1/4 cup Celtic sea salt, 1 Tbs. carrier oil (like coconut, almond, jojoba, apricot), and 10-20 drops of your favorite essential oil. Mix together et voila! I find this amount gives me two “treatments” (once a week).

Works every bit as well and costs pennies. It’s not in a pretty glass jar but I’ve already impressed myself by making it. 😉

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

