51 OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL SENTENCES IN LITERATURE–WOEFULLY INCOMPLETE.

10430374_1098782666846718_3412095388347017867_n

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jenniferschaffer/i-am-i-am-i-am#.gvAXDgzA2

1,000+ comments about this post and when I say comments, I mean quotes, quotes, and more quotes! A pleasantly rare case where the comments section adds to the article, as someone rightly pointed out. My woefully incomplete additions:

“There are years that ask questions and years that answer.”
― Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes Were Watching God

“Man, when you lose your laugh you lose your footing.”
― Ken Kesey, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

“I do things like get in a taxi and say, “The library, and step on it.”
― David Foster Wallace, Infinite Jest

I saw so many other gorgeous sentences and thought, “Doh! Of course!”. What do you think of the list? What would you add?

3 thoughts on “51 OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL SENTENCES IN LITERATURE–WOEFULLY INCOMPLETE.

  1. ooh, this is a challenge that I could spend a whole year on, and maybe I will – because I love your blog. So, I’m going to have to concentrate on my current authors for now:

    Louis Ferdinand Celine (Journey to the end of the night): “There’s no tyrant like a brain”.

    Bukowski: “An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way.”

    Tolstoy: “To go wrong in one’s own way is better than to go right in someone else’s.”

    I love your starters, particularly Kesey…, touching, very touching.

    Please keep writing here, you open my mind.

    1. Ooh, good ones. Yes, I could spend a lifetime on this challenge. So many I missed. And Kesey’s is touching; I can relate and find it quite moving, as I do Celine’s quote.

      You’re sweet to compliment my blog so. Thinking of Kesey’s quote has me itching to write about my time in the looney bin. The first time I felt at peace in my life and the first genuine gut-busting laughter in a decade.

  2. We are still learning about One Flew over The Cuckoo’s Nest. I think that it will take 50, maybe 100, years before we truly appreciate that novel. Just understanding the title would take us further as a species.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

