“DON’T RAIN ON MY PARADE”

1176145_10151501661746710_1495102414_n

Treating myself to a coconut milk Oprah chai latte at the Starbucks by my grouchy rheumy doctor’s office. I had an appointment with her today. I was sitting on the examination table/chair humming, “Love Will Keep Us Together” by The Captain and Tennille when she opened the door.

“Why are you smiling?” she asks. “‘Cause I’m humming a Captain and Tennille song.” Blank stare. What? Because I’ve got RA and lung cancer I can’t enjoy a happy 70’s song while waiting for my younger-than-me, kinda severe and apparently humorless rheumy doctor?

Then she chides me for not taking my Enbrel shots because “you don’t have mild RA.” No duh. “Yes, well, between sleep-robbing shoulder pain that Enbrel doesn’t ease, finding out I have lung cancer, and the chronic sinus infection/flu that pops up whenever I take Enbrel, meaning I’d wake up after too little sleep with horrid shoulder AND sinus pain every¬†morning, I decided to give myself a break.” “Start taking it again two weeks after your surgery.” Right ho, Jeeves.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m extremely grateful for her. If not for her requesting a chest CT scan instead of just an X-ray when I told her about my nodule, the doctor may not have caught the cancer mass so soon. Advanced lung cancer doesn’t have a high survival rate.

All I’m saying is, don’t be a buzzkill, Doc.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

