“FALLING SLOWLY”

G and I had talked about going to NYC in warmer weather this year, maybe May or June. He’d seen Once in London, loved it and would be happy to see it again. I’d loved the film, especially this song, and was excited to see it on Broadway. Alas, it closed in NY, G told me during our Great Sage dinner. Then he twisted the knife in deeper (kidding, G!) with news that he got free tickets to London (only G) and would be flying out the day of my surgery. I get lung cancer, G gets London. And a chance to see Once again (yet it’s impossible to be jealous and seek vengeance upon him). OK, whoever made a voodoo doll of me, I got it! You can stop stabbing me in the chest now!

I don’t know you
But I want you
All the more for that
Words fall through me
And always fool me
And I can’t react
And games that never amount
To more than they’re meant
Will play themselves out

[Chorus]
Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You’ll make it now

Falling slowly, eyes that know me
And I can’t go back
Moods that take me and erase me
And I’m painted black
You have suffered enough
And warred with yourself
It’s time that you won

[Chorus]

Falling slowly sing your melody
I’ll sing along

Glen Hansard – Falling Slowly Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

