“TIME FOR A COOL CHANGE”

I feel like I’ve done nothing but sleep and sweat all week. I’ve written though, blog posts and complaint/suggestion letters to organizations, read, self-cared even when I ceased caring, played and brushed the kitties more, discovered the liquor store next to the market sells St. Germain Elderflower liqueur (I need it for my signature summer martini, the “Greyhound”), sent my tax returns down the mail chute at 9:50AM on the 15th, dropped off and picked up library books, chatted with my friend, John, the few times I saw him, took pleasure in watching the building next door disappear as growing green leaves adorn the tall trees betwixt us (yes, betwixt), the early morning chattering of birds, the sunrises, witnessing the usually spring-loaded Zappa raise his head, eyes half-closed in “It’s too early, Mommy” sleepiness, pinching, inhaling and chopping organic basil sprigs from my new plant, turning on our little fan for white noise and waking to capture Breenie asleep on her side so as to benefit from the cooling breeze, listening to one of my neighbors sing and play his guitar, knowing I’m not alone in loving music that much.

I focused much of my writing here and in my journal on what made me so unhappy, frustrated, mad and exhausted this week. I earned the right, I think, but I do my damnedest to appreciate the beauty that surrounds me.

I did a pretty good job, all things considered. Here’re some more beautiful beings:

One thought on ““TIME FOR A COOL CHANGE”

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

