“I CAN’T LAUGH AND I CAN’T SING, I’M FINDING IT HARD TO DO ANYTHING”

My FB profile photo has the rainbow superimposed over it to show how happy I was with the Supreme Court’s decision. It took me a while to figure out how to do it, that’s how much I wanted it, though I’d posted a celebratory rainbow heart on my page already.

I just wanted you to know that as wrapped up as my brain’s been with this surgery imbroglio, insufferable insomnia, unsympathetic hospital billing department, an inability to read, write, or stay awake for any length of time, I still care for, think about, and feel for others 24/7. I continue an enhanced self-care regimen including learning yoga sequences (affirmations, aromatherapy, crystals, food colors, etc.) for my seven chakras. “You may be right, I may be crazy,” but this will be the second straight night of going to bed before 3AM since my education started three days ago. I must be all kinds of blocked.

And there’s an upside. I journal like mad and keep a six-page list (so far) of blog post ideas. I’ve watched a Wanda Sykes HBO stand-up special and the first series, (English for season) of Amazon’s new show, Catastrophe. Both excellent. Both made me feel good. My new hobby, growing free organic veggies from their “scraps,” allows me to be productive, (someday) save money by not buying three lettuces and celery (so far) anymore, and dote on them, embarrassing the kitties. My friend, S, and I meet for a weekly evening walk, three weeks and counting, and does us both good. Oh, and I’ve scrubbed the bathtub twice in one week and all this yoga and meditation’s got me down to, at most, one cup of coffee a day.

Imagine…a writer who doesn’t drink coffee or smoke. She’s out there and she’ll be back.

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

