“Slip Slidin’ Away”

c9506bfa45a6da4578330b92cde6be80

It is terrible, and I haven’t the “luxury” of being a fiction writer. I absorb reality at its worst (and best, but the worst sticks more), then scribble or tappity tap pages about it. I can’t help it. I didn’t choose to write about this frigging life. I must, or KABOOM! My head will explode.

Adopting a vegan lifestyle gifted me with inner peace and patience. Soppy, but true. Unfortunately, like many vegan newbies I started reading about animal agriculture. A lot. Joined the vegan community on Facebook and was inundated with articles, graphic videos, and photos highlighting the horrors. I handled it OK for a while. Was saddened by “angry vegans'” hate-filled rants towards all humans, daily crying jags, sleepless nights. Now I’m an angry vegan.

Knowledge is power but it’s painful, too. Growing pains. I can’t un-see or delete what I’ve seen, read, and heard. I understand more than ever how images and sounds haunt others day and night. How a peacenik can be poisoned by hate and anger and hopelessness. Slowly, like a nagging wife by her browbeatened husband. And I hate myself most of all for allowing others’ behavior to affect my own. I won’t live that way again. I didn’t survive all I have to succumb to such useless, negative, and fleeting (if I let it be) garbage.

I’m needed, dammit. I’m no good to the animals, Earth, and you as a hopeless, overwhelmed, hate-filled, non-blogging, angry vegan. And I’m no good to myself. I count, too.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Slip Slidin’ Away”

  1. It’s great to read your blog posts again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences again. There’s a new tone of hurt, anger and the displeasure mirror. I don’t know you, nor your situation, so it’s maybe forward for me to comment more. However, I do want to let you know that your writing is the strongest, and most compelling, that I read. I await your posts, stop everything else I’m doing to read them, and then am left pondering afterwards.
    I’m not a vegan, but know that I should be. I’m the halfway hypocrite who should do better. You take me forwards incrementally when you write. Your job is not to change me, I know it’s my challenge.
    Your writing is often the funniest, and the sexiest, verse that I’ve read. Your confessional is truly incredible, and I love it! I would love to read the the 15 ring bound journals. Keep writing, please. Please don’t doubt the sharing,I’m sure that I’m not alone in being engrossed.

    Your generosity in sharing is much appreciated. When you share you do have influence on other people’s actions.

    I have much more to say, but for the moment I’ll just leave you with an introduction to my current mindset. I’m trying to learn to paint. I want to be a painter,but the learning curve without talent is tough, and that’s what I love about it. http://www.paintingthrough.wordpress.com

Lack of communication is unhealthy.

